Assesment one

I started my blog 6 weeks ago. I have 10 post and three categories. I have been blogging a little about Networked media but my main posts are about the things i’ve been up to while on exchange. I have been blogging about my trips with RMIT recreation, and I plan to blog more about what Melbourne has to offer as in bars, restaurants and things to do.

While participating in the course i’ve been asked “what is blogging?” Well what is writing online? I think that it is a personal take on a public platform. It is a number of things, the internet is a large network of information weather it be a trip advisor review or a video its all information that is networked together by people sharing, mentioning and commenting on it. Without this network of converse would it exist? It would but either not be discovered or be forgotten. In the second reading It is the connectivity that is discussed. To be “network literate” we have to understand the importance to contribute as much as we consume. Writing online is about the larger conversation that is the internet. Unfortunately no one has left any comments on my blog, why? Maybe no one is reading it? I have not promoted my blog on any other social media but I have just started adding tags to my posts to try and engage with a wider audience. I have to look at my key audience and play my writing style and posts to them without compromising my own goals. Engaging with other blogs is a sure way to help this telling people “Hey i’m here!” Looking at my online presence it is definitely the biggest on Instagram I post at least every other day and people from all over the world like my photos and adventures. My blog dose translate to that my post about the Great ocean road trip is my favourite photos from the trip and some writings about the highlights. I want to be a good blogger and I also want to be a good writer. While writing my blog I have my own voice and my own passion, I have tried to write in a manner that mimics having a conversation with someone, being chatty but sometimes giving trivial details. The first reading gave me some good blogging tips that I wrote about in this post. Miles also has a very interesting point about collaborative learning, students and teachers and see each others opinions and overall understandings on what is being learnt this opens up “peer support”. I really enjoy blogging and I want to blog more often with a larger audience. I have downloaded the wordpress app onto my phone for some easy on the go reviews in the future like the soup place post where I done a short review on a place I went for lunch. My blog will help me improve my writing, improve my knowledge about contribution in the internet.It will help me have the best experience I can have while living in Melbourne. It will help me share my experiences with friends, family even future employers.

 

Bibliography

 

  • Miles, Adrian. Blogs in Media Education: A Beginning [online]. Screen Education, No. 43, 2006: 66-69.

  •  Miles, Adrian. Network Literacy: The New Path to Knowledge [online]. Screen Education, No. 45, 2007: 24-30.

 

Leave a comment